DadaDoll

Marybeth

Posted on: May 7, 2011

Marybeth. My mother’s name.

No Labels

I wish I could say, like everybody else, that my mom is my best friend or that I’m a momma’s girl. Unlike most people I know, I have a superbly imperfect relationship with  my mother. My mom is different, she does not cook, does not do laundry or drops and picks up her daughters from school. She never combed my hair when I was little. When we’re at the mall, I feel that I’m with a four year old who I have to chase all the time. Literally.  She likes buying clothes, lots of shoes, and tech stuff she doesn’t really know how to use. She likes expensive things and is very loud. Very loud, let me repeat that.

No Regrets

Growing up, me and my mom fought a lot. You must imagine how painful it is for my father to live with four hormonal ladies. My uncle who overhead our fight once even said, “you two should be in a TV drama series!” Yes, our words could sting like that. But I think in general, fights make any relationship stronger.

Just Love

I guess I was wrong in the first place to expect that every mom should cook, do the laundry or comb her daughter’s hair. My mom IS… a bisaya who makes us laugh without her realizing. If you’re a filipino and know Anabelle Rama, I’m sure you’ll have an idea what I mean. She is honest, persistent,  brave, and says what she feels. My mom knows style. It’s amazing how I can turn to her and her closet for latest fashion trends. I think it is with her that I got my passion for art, books, and writing. My mom is the life of a party. She sings and dances – A LOT (and not just anything, but Lady Gaga songs, take note)!

My mom and I clash, but that’s just how we are. I know our relationship is better now, but for everything in the past, I am sorry. With us, there are no labels, no regrets, just love. Happy Mother’s Day Mama! Thank you. I love you.

this is a photo of my mom:

Kabowgera and nanay niyo! Haha! 50 years old!

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 3,402 hits
May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers